In the Batch Editor or Product Editor, you can edit an individual image and then apply your changes to the other images automatically. To do this, use the Apply to all setting.
For example, you could add a text layer, style the text layer, and then apply it to every image in the batch.
This article explains how to use the Apply to all option. It covers where you can find the option, what happens if you select it, and what rules Photoroom uses to apply the changes.
Note: Apply to all may be labeled Apply recent edits to all in some iOS and Android versions of Photoroom.
How to access Apply to all
On the Web App, the Apply to all option is available from the pill menu for the image (not the pill menu for a layer). It is only shown if you have made changes to a layer on the image.
On iOS and Android, the Apply to all option appears as a temporary notification when you:
Open a batch or product image in the main editor (from the Batch Editor or Product Editor).
Edit the image.
Exit the main editor and return to the Batch Editor or Product Editor.
On mobile, the option is time-sensitive.
Note: Some editing features do not have Apply to all, for example, the Edit with AI prompt. For those, you need to edit each image individually.
What happens when you select Apply to all?
If you select Apply to all, Photoroom applies the recent edits to every image in the batch or product listing. Photoroom checks the history of edits and then uses the following rules:
Check the edits made to the last image that was edited individually.
On the Web App, this is the image that was used to access Apply to all.
On iOS and Android, it is the most recent image that was edited in the main editor.
If the edit was to the main object layer, Photoroom applies the same edit to the main object layer in the other images.
If the edit was to a background layer, Photoroom applies the same edit to the background layer in the other images.
If a layer was added during the edit, the same layer is also added to the other images.
If the other images have additional layers that are not included on the edited image, Photoroom removes the additional layers. It will not remove the main object layers.
Important! If the last edited image has an AI background, the backgrounds may be slightly different on each image. See the Troubleshooting section below for details.
What happens if you ignore Apply to all?
If you don't select Apply to all, the edits only apply to the image you worked on. On iOS and Android, Apply to all is time-sensitive and will disappear shortly after being displayed.
What if you miss the opportunity to select Apply to all?
If you are on iOS or Android and wanted to select Apply to all, but the notification closed before you could select it, there is a way to display it again:
From the Batch Editor or Product Catalog Editor, open the image in the main editor.
Make a minor change, such as move a layer, and then exit.
Select Apply to all so that the change applies to all of the images.
Open the image again and change it back to how it was in step 1.
Exit the editor and select Apply to all. The change applies to all of the images.
Troubleshooting
Why is the background different even though I chose to apply it to all?
This can happen if the background is an AI Background.
With AI Backgrounds, Photoroom does not reuse the background image. Instead, it generates new backgrounds, using the same prompt as the original. This produces similar but not identical backgrounds, as Photoroom:
Analyzes the foreground objects in the image, including color, tone, and shadows
Generates a new background that takes the colors, tone, and shadows into consideration.
The result is backgrounds that are more realistic, with better lighting and shadows. But the backgrounds may be slightly different.
On iOS or Android, why are only some of the edits being applied?
On iOS and Android, you can open an image in the main editor from Batch, and then make changes. You can also load the next image in the batch into the editor, without exiting the editor. So there is a sequence of edits.
When you exit the editor and select Apply to all, Photoroom applies the changes from the last edited image, not all of the images. To avoid losing edits, we recommend that you open the image you want to edit, then exit the editor and use Apply to all.
Loading the next batch image into the editor in sequence is designed for when you don't want to use Apply to all. It is for when you want to edit batch images individually in sequence and then ignore Apply to all when you exit.




