Skip to main content

How to use Edit Cutout

The Edit Cutout feature lets you erase or restore parts of a layer on a design. Use it to fine-tune the results of the background remover.

C
Written by Craig Wright

Edit Cutout lets you control which parts of a layer are kept and which are removed. It's especially useful when the Background Remover has removed too much or too little of your image, as it lets you fine-tune the cutout.

How it works:

  • You activate Edit Cutout.

  • You choose Erase to remove or Restore to recover removed areas.

  • You paint over the area to remove or restore.

  • Photoroom redraws the cutout.


Availability

  • All plans

  • All platforms


Ways to access Edit Cutout

Edit Cutout is available in several different places, which vary depending on the platform (Web App, iOS, Android).

Web app:

  • Foreground layer settings when Remove background is turned on (Main editor)

  • Context menu for layer

  • Pill menu for a layer (Batch Editor, Product Catalog Editor)

  • Review and edit an AI tool result with Remove background turned on.

iOS:

  • Foreground layer settings

  • After scanning an image/removing a background (tap the thumbnail image at the top of the screen or swipe down). This only appears for selected tools.

  • AI Backgrounds. After generating images, select the Subject option to enter Edit Cutout.

Android:

  • Foreground layer settings

  • After scanning an image/removing a background (tap the thumbnail image at the top of the screen). This only appears for selected tools.

  • AI Backgrounds. After generating images, select the Subject option to enter Edit Cutout.


Edit Cutout settings

Edit Cutout has these settings:

  • Assisted

  • Manual

  • Erase

  • Restore

  • Brush Size.


Assisted

Photoroom helps you to select the area to erase or restore. Instead of painting over the area, you can tap on the area and Photoroom will select it automatically. To choose the area, it analyses the color of the pixels and the content of the image.


Manual

Use this mode if you want to manually paint over the area that Photoroom should erase or restore.


Erase

Select this mode to remove unwanted parts of an image. Draw over the area you want to remove and Photoroom will delete it.


Restore

Select this mode to recover parts of the background that were previously removed. Draw over the area you want to recover and Photoroom will add it back into the image.


Brush size

Use to change the size of the brush for manually selecting an area. This is only available when using Manual mode.


Related Content

Workflows

Did this answer your question?