Skip to main content

Free trials of Photoroom

Learn about the free trials available for Photoroom paid plans and how they affect the payment schedule.

C
Written by Craig Wright

In this article, we explain:

  • What a free Space is

  • How the free trial works when you upgrade for the first time

  • When you are billed

  • What happens if you cancel during the free trial

  • Upgrading from a free trial.
    ​


Free Space and account

You can use a limited version of Photoroom for free by creating an account. This gives you a Space on the Free plan with limited features, AI credits, and export capacity.

To access more AI credits and higher export limits, you can upgrade a Space to a paid plan.

To learn more about the plans, see What are Photoroom's plans? and our pricing page.


Free trials

Photoroom offers a 7-day free trial on yearly Pro and Max plans only. It is applied automatically when you upgrade a Space for the first time.

There is no standard trial for the Ultra plan or API plans.

Important:

  • A free trial applies only to the first Space you upgrade.

  • A free trial is available once per customer. If you have subscribed before, or have already used a free trial, you will not receive another one.

  • Any additional Spaces you upgrade are charged immediately with no free trial.

During the 7-day free trial, you can:

  • Access the features of your chosen plan

  • Cancel at any time.


How does a free trial affect the payment schedule?

If you have a free trial, the payment schedule (also known as the billing cycle) begins when the trial period ends. You get 7 days free and we take your first subscription payment on Day 8.
​
In the following example, we show you:

  • How the 7-day free trial works when you upgrade your first Space

  • How billing works when you upgrade another Space and there is no free trial.


​Example: Photoroom Pro yearly subscription for two Spaces
​
​Space #1
​
​March 1, 2027:
You have one Space and you subscribe to Photoroom Pro for the first time. You choose a yearly payment plan. As this is the first time you are upgrading, you receive a 7-day free trial and you are not charged today.
​
​March 8, 2027:
The free trial ends and your payment schedule begins. We take the payment for your yearly subscription (unless you canceled before the trial ended, in which case you are not charged).
​
​Space #2
​
​March 10, 2027:
You create another Space. It is a free Space by default, as Photoroom uses a "One Subscription per Space" policy.
​
​March 12, 2027:
You upgrade the second Space to Pro. You are charged immediately and there is no free trial, because a free trial can only be used once per customer and you have already used yours on the first Space.
​
​March 8, 2028:
Your Space #1 subscription renews automatically unless you have canceled or changed your plan.
​
​March 12, 2028:
Your Space #2 subscription renews automatically unless you have canceled or changed your plan.
​
​Payment schedule:
Space #1 = March 8 to March 8 the following year.
Space #2 = March 12 to March 12 the following year.


Upgrade during a free trial

If you upgrade during a free trial, this will happen:

  • Pro to Max keeps the trial

  • Pro/Max to Ultra ends the trial and you are billed for Ultra immediately.

For instructions, see:


Cancel a free trial

If, during the free trial, you decide that you don't want to go ahead with your subscription, you can cancel.

When you cancel your free trial:

  • You continue to have access to the paid features until your trial ends.

  • You are not charged when the trial period is over.

  • You have used your free trial and will be billed immediately if you subscribe later. A canceled free trial still counts as a free trial.

It’s completely normal to still see paid features after you’ve canceled. They remain active until your trial expires.

If you don't cancel during the free trial, your subscription payment is taken when the trial ends. You will then be on your subscription, which will auto-renew at the end of the payment schedule unless you cancel.

Important: If you use the App Store, Apple recommend that you cancel 24 hours before the trial ends.

Ready to cancel?

Follow the instructions in Cancel your subscription.


Related content

Did this answer your question?